Back from the 4th

Sometimes 7 days is a long time. And a lot of times, it’s just not.

I just returned from spending my 4th of July with my family in Cape Cod. We’ve been summering out there since I was a kid and it’s pretty fun. It’s definitely always interesting. Cape Cod has boomed as a vacation spot for Americans, but it seems to be drawing more foreigners (Europeans) as well.

What’s interesting is that the small town feel is still there and the same race/gender/class politics arise in the same manner they did some 20 years ago.

Despite some stares (but no racist slurs this time around! yay!) my son and I had a blast. He got to run around with his younger cousin (whom we both adore) and play with my ever cool sister and brother-in-law while my parents cooked and cleaned up after us like fiends. Everday was a new activity: bike riding the trails along the Cape, beaching at the National Seashore – I even had a chance to catch a few waves on the long boards my sister rented! We stayed up late and woke up early so it’s no wonder the days flew by.

Leave a Reply

