Right Now

Finally got my mitts on a Modern Dog cd. They’re a pretty well known alt/rock band out of Bangkok that recently played at The Knitting Factory. Listening to it now and lamenting the fact that it’s August already.

My son starts first grade at the end of this month…

But until then, the latest PWCW is out and lucky me!  I’ve got two articles running in this week’s issue that I had a lot of fun working on.  One is a profile of manga artist/writer Ogure Ito nay Oh! Great who’s comics are something like martial-arts choreographer Yuen Wo Ping would put together if he were a sleazebag with a conscience.

The second is my interview with Yoshihiro Tatsumi who I had the good fortune to sit down with for almost two hours at San Diego Comicon .  Would you believe that at the end of the interview I still had more questions?  The only reason I quit is because Tatsumi started looking bored.

As for this weekend, I’m heading down to Baltimore for Otakon (a strictly manga and anime convention) to geek about boys-love with DramaQueener Tran Nguyen and interview Makoto Tateno, the boys-love author of Yellow.  Wait, how did Otakon become my own private boys-love-in?

Leave a Reply

