Random thoughts and musings

Blog posts and stories are trickling in – sporatically, and without any sort of rhythm.  Part of this is due to the fact that inconsistency has always been a very personal, reliable, and unwavering strength of mine.  The other part is due to my  new job.  But mostly it’s because nobody – and I mean nobody – nobody does erratic the way I do.

Since it’s been a while, I thought I’d link to a few fun stories that I’ve recently scoped:

The Wired Magazine blog carries this story on why the Japanese hate, hate, haaaaaaaaate, the iPhone.  I’m inclined to agree.  Apple has a lot of product out there that simply dominates the market (i.e. the iPod), but there’s a crap load of much better technology in the greater global marketplace.  Given the longer personal history between people and cellphones throughout East and Southeast Asia, it doesn’t surprise me that the iPhone doesn’t cut it in JP.

Haruki Murakami accepts a prize for literature in Jerusalem and shares this speech where he talks about writing:

I tend to do the exact opposite of what I am told. If people are telling me — and especially if they are warning me — “Don’t go there,” “Don’t do that,” I tend to want to “go there” and “do that.” It’s in my nature, you might say, as a novelist. Novelists are a special breed. They cannot genuinely trust anything they have not seen with their own eyes or touched with their own hands.

This trait – I don’t think it’s limited to just novelists; I think it applies to all writers.

In manga, ComiPress has a translation of this smack-talkin manga article that’s kinda pretty dope.  Not sure that any of it is true, but the sheer idea that Akira Toriyama became a manga creator because he wasn’t down for the commute to his office job is pretty funny.  And this:

Author of “Tenjho Tenge” and “Air Gear”, Oh! Great (Ogure Ito) enjoys a reputation for his consummate skill at drawing; however, this man’s real reasons for entering the world of comics was to pay back his debts from playing pachinko (… A gambler! Don’t copy his mistakes!).

Ogure Ito is one of my favorite creators and that he’s a gamblin man only adds to his appeal.  As for the clever words of advice, I say  life is a gamble: you can’t win if you don’t play.

I’ll be back with something more substantial at a later date – most likely next month.  In the meantime, here’s to hoping the rumors are true.

Leave a Reply

