Make it a Movie Weekend: Children of Invention opens tomorrow

Filmmaker and fellow Bostonian Tze Chun’s movie Children of Invention will kick off it’s release tomorrow (Friday) in NYC and LA.  It’s a limited, one-week engagement at BIG Cinemas in NYC, and at the Downtown Independent in LA.  CoI swept at all sorts of film festivals, winner of Grand Jury prizes at Newport, Boston, and a shitload others.

I kinda think of it as a localized version of Kore-eda’s Nobody Knows set in Boston except in Children of Invention, instead of abandoning her children, the mother is arrested in an attempt to make a better life for them.  So, it’s pretty much got nothing to do with Kore-eda or Nobody Knows except that, in both movies, the children are left alone to fend for themselves.

Nobody Knows is one of my all-time favorite movies, and I’m anticipating that Children of Invention is going to break my heart in a similar manner.  And I’m not just saying that because I’m excited to see Boston as the backdrop to the film, or because my friend, Ed Lin’s wife is in it.  I’m saying it because I believe the hype that’s stirred around this movie that’s won 15 awards during it’s festival tour, and I believe it’s that good.

So.

I’m going to go and see this movie, and have my heart ripped out of me.  And I think you should go, too.

It’s only once or twice in a lifetime that you get to experience this type of heartbreak.  Limited engagement, one week only.  You won’t regret it.

More on CoI and Director Tze Chun:

Boston Globe interviews Tze Chun.

Manohla Dargis reviews Children of Invention for The New York Times.

Leave a Reply

